Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Easter morning, I got up early while it was still dark to make some preparations for the luncheon I was hosting.

I looked out my kitchen window at the still visible moon and gasped!

What a sight and encouragement on Resurrection Day! Look at my photo carefully….and I’m not talking about the fact that the moon looks like an Easter egg….although it does!

moon and cross

I realize that there was a physical/logical reason for this cross radiating out from the moon – somehow viewing it through the window glass reflected something that did not appear in reality when I opened the door to view it.  Some may laugh at me and lump me in with the folks who see the face of Jesus on a cracker. And maybe they would be right to do so.

But I don’t care.  I take it as a gift. A gift of celebration. A gift of encouragement. A gift to remind me that He is there.

ALWAYS.

A gift to remind me that the cross itself was a gift of love.  A gift to remind me that He doesn’t always work the way I think, the way I expect or even the way I might like sometimes. Jesus certainly didn’t some 2000 years ago.

Our pastor had encouraged and invited us to NOTICE our Lord during this past season of Lent. We heard sermons reminding us that Jesus doesn’t fit into our box, that those in His day didn’t understand who He was because they had conflicts between who they wanted Jesus to be and who He really was. That we, too, can have that same personal conflict and preconceived notion of who Christ REALLY is. And what His Kingdom really is.

So maybe it makes perfect sense that to see the cross, what it represents, who Jesus really is, and what He wants for us and from us, we might need to view it with a different perspective……through a “window” that reflects something different than what WE view as reality – through FAITH. In 2 Corinthians 4:18, Paul tells us:

So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.

I recently read that Abraham “functioned in the visible, temporal world with an invisible, eternal perspective.” This perspective affected every decision he made. What perspective are we using for our decisions?

Maybe seeing the face of Jesus on a cracker isn’t so crazy after all….

