Tags

, , , , , ,

Yesterday, Dreams of Dunamis commented on one of my posts from a couple of weeks ago:

“It reminded me of this piece of scripture: “For he that is entered into his rest, he also hath ceased from his own works, as God did from his. Let us labour therefore to enter into that rest…” (Hebrews 4:10-11, KJV)

I struggle with the ‘laboring to rest’ concept…
Definitely harder for me to do, but very gratifying when it happens!”

I started to comment back & realized that this should actually be a post in itself because it’s something that the LORD was trying to show me!!!

Thanks, Dreams….That is a great verse – that I’ve never “noticed” before! And thanks for commenting now because…the dense & sometimes “stiff-necked” person that I am…I just heard a sermon on Sunday that spoke of who? Well, Martha & Mary (as I referred to in my post) & how Martha needed to learn to BE IN HIS PRESENCE! Doing the work she was called to do (in her case, hospitality), yes, but IN His Presence. And I didn’t even remember or connect the fact that I had just posted this recently. Uh, DUH! It’s interesting because a couple of days ago, I did try to just sit in His Presence, doing NOTHING, but trying to listen. And lo & behold, He started telling me something…connecting some dots for me! Imagine that!

The Dots that’s He’s Connecting for me is something that I need more to time to meditate on, think about, talk to Him about, etc. but it’s about that darn wilderness again. That wilderness that I’ve written about so many times that it should be its own category! And how He’s called me OUT OF IT.  And that I do NOT NEED TO FEAR what He’s calling me into. That’s He’s gone out ahead of me. You’ll probably see more about this….

I came across this great blog post and was reminded: “Stop looking from side to side.  Bow your head.  Come to me.” And this: “Blessed are those who have learned to acclaim you; who walk in the light of your presence, O Lord.”  Psalm 89:15

The blog writer said “I am stubborn and I resist, but God is persistent.  When life happens, I am learning to bow my head first, instead of turning this way and that.”

And that’s where I am. Still learning. But the learning curve is getting less steep. I pray that I will cease my resistance, cease MY OWN WORKS.

