Tags

, , , , , , ,

English: An image of Psalm 23 (King James' Ver...

English: An image of Psalm 23 (King James’ Version), frontispiece to the 1880 omnibus printing of The Sunday at Home. Scanned at 800 dpi. Français : Illustration du Psaume 23 (version autorisée par le roi Jacques), en frontispice de l’édition omnibus du Sunday at home. Version numérisée à 800 dpi. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Psalm 23

King James Version (KJV)

 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. 2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. 3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

This is as far I got this morning.

I woke up this morning with my mind spinning, as it has been lately. My last couple of posts have dealt (and the ones unwritten in my head and heart) with the clamor surrounding me & the unease & whatever it is that’s been making my mind spin. So this morning, as soon as I woke up….before I got out of bed….it started. I began quoting one of the passages that I’ve known since I was a kid (hence the KJV) that I love. That helps calm me in the darkness.

And I could only get through verse 3. Because that’s where I got stuck! My mind would shut off. I would doze off. Whatever. I either couldn’t remember past that verse or seriously, my mind just stopped working.  On a Bible passage that I’ve known for more years than I’d like to admit!

After this happened about 5 times, I realized that the Shepherd was stopping me. THAT was what He wanted to tell me this morning. Just like yesterday’s GC, He wanted me to STOP and rest in His Presence. And like last week’s post, I NEED His Strength and He wants to give it to me.

HE WANTS TO RESTORE ME.

What an incredible thought. What a Loving thought.

A year or so ago, I read a book called Stress Busters: 40 Days with the Shepherd by Phil and Linda Sommerville – one of the most life-changing books for me.

Obviously, I need to review….how about you?

Update: A few minutes after I published this, I picked up the Stress Busters book & read: “Unfortunately, people have come to associate this Psalm with dying when it is in fact about living. This Psalm is about a way of life that decreases stress and increases joy, that decreases fear and increases confidence.”  Isn’t that awesome?

