Tags

, , , , ,

Following the bolded words is a post I wrote back in either July or August but didn’t feel comfortable publishing at that time. But this dream started me along a certain path. I, with some help from the enemy, got all sidetracked for a while, but I’m getting back on course.

There have been several GC’s lately convincing me that it’s time to push the publish button, including turning to a KWVE radio station yesterday morning and hearing a portion of a message from Jon Courson. I had not listened to this station in months – many months – but yesterday there was too much static on Air 1 (really?) so I changed stations and was only able to hear about 5 minutes of his message. What did I hear? He was talking about hearing revelations from Jesus.  Then he quoted Acts 2:17:   “In the last days, God says, I will pour out my Spirit on all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your young men will see visions, your old men will dream dreams.”

A few years ago, a man from our church came up to me and told me that he had dreamed that he was supposed to read some Scripture to me. And he said it was weird because he had never had anything like that happen to him. Acts 2:17 was the verse he read to me.

I have had a few dreams & experiences over the last few years that were incredibly real to me at the time they happened. Afterwards, I sometimes would start to doubt them…because they were not “ordinary” and I wasn’t sure what they were or what they meant. But most of the time, I just didn’t want to tell people about them….in case they thought I was weird.  But I did experience them. I realize that every thing needs to be confirmed and tested. But most of the time, I do get some kind of confirmation…

The Unpublished Post:

I want to tell you WHY I started learning/reading/thinking/praying/writing about the Holy Spirit. I’ve been praying & wrestling about IF and WHEN I should write about this. Not because I doubt what my experience was – that it was from God. Oh, no. I’ve been…..wait for it……wait……..AFRAID to tell others about this!

Afraid of people thinking I’m wacko.

Afraid that this was private FOR ME from God & that I shouldn’t talk about it. But my Bible and other readings tell me that information/revelations/Spirit-led experiences…I’m not really sure what word fits here – are to be used for the edification of the church.  Our pastor recently shared a supernatural experience with our church body. Something that happened to him that was out-of-the-ordinary, can’t-be-explained, different, “weird” (see previous posts about these words).  And let me tell you. I was EDIFIED! I was THRILLED to hear how God SPEAKS to others! How He comforts! How He cares! How He was working in the life of one of His children. And I was encouraged to know that I am NOT WACKO when God talks to ME through other means besides His Holy Living Word. BECAUSE HE DOES!

Afraid of others thinking I consider myself “special” because God talked directly to me.  And I don’t even want that sentence to sound conceited or full of myself. (I’m laughing at myself right now! Still working on that humility/humble thing. Denigrating yourself is NOT being humble, I know.)  Then yesterday, as I was reviewing last Sunday’s sermon, I re-read a passage that our pastor had included: 2 Corinthians 12:9. Which is a favorite, favorite, favorite verse of mine. But this time, I decided to read around it, starting from verse 1 through 11. And what did I read?!?!? Something that I didn’t really pay much attention to before….

I must go on boasting. Although there is nothing to be gained, I will go on to visions and revelations from the Lord. 2 I know a man in Christ who fourteen years ago was caught up to the third heaven. Whether it was in the body or out of the body I do not know—God knows. 3 And I know that this man—whether in the body or apart from the body I do not know, but God knows— 4 was caught up to paradise and heard inexpressible things, things that no one is permitted to tell. 5 I will boast about a man like that, but I will not boast about myself, except about my weaknesses. 6 Even if I should choose to boast, I would not be a fool, because I would be speaking the truth. But I refrain, so no one will think more of me than is warranted by what I do or say, 7 or because of these surpassingly great revelations. Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. 8 Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. 9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. ” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Not that I’m comparing myself or my experiences to Paul by any means…..but maybe it’s time to boast of the power of the Lord and of my weaknesses. I don’t think my dream is talk of “inexpressible things, things that no one is permitted to tell.” I think it’s something that all believers would benefit from knowing in their hearts and believing. But that phrase is causing me to pause & pray for a clear go-ahead. Before I push the “publish” button, I’m going to still be praying & asking for permission. I’ve been so hesitant on talking about this since it happened…I’m still not sure whether it’s due to my fear, God saying”no” or God telling me to “wait” until the right time…..Lots of GC’s. In my devotional reading and my perpetual calendar this morning, two….count them…two things. Luke 14:28 “For which of you, intending to build a tower, does not sit down first and count the cost?” Boy, am I weighing and counting. Then a note in my Bible: “Satan will try to convince you that obedience carries much too high a price, but he will never tell you the cost of NOT obeying God.” Again, my dilemma…which way am I supposed to obey? Tell or not tell? I feel dense, Lord.

Sunday’s message was still about Deut 31:1-8 and Joshua 1:1-9 with the emphasis this week on “Be Strong.” Our pastor said that Joshua was not strong, so in essence, God was telling him to “start BEING strong.” Hebrews 10-39-11:1 “39 But we do not belong to those who shrink back and are destroyed, but to those who have faith and are saved. 11 Now faith is confidence in what we hope for  and assurance about what we do not see.”  In fact, the theme of the message was “start getting your faith pumped up.”

Finally, THE DREAM. And its confirmation. I hope someone reading this will be EDIFIED.

I was sitting on the beach when a man, that I understood that I knew, walked up to me, poured oil into his hand, placed his hand over my heart and looked deeply in my eyes. He said, “I have placed my mark on you.” He kissed me and left.

Immediately after this, I’m not sure if I woke up or thought about this still during the dream, but I was a little concerned about the nature of this dream. I’m sure you understand what I mean.

In the morning, as my feet hit the floor, I said – out loud, mind you – “that was You, wasn’t it, Jesus?” I was overwhelmed. I grabbed my coffee and headed to my special chair to read my devotional and my Bible. And became even more overwhelmed.

My devotional had one of my favorite verses, Eph 28:10

8 For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith —and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— 9 not by works, so that no one can boast. 10 For we are God’s masterpiece, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

I just realized this talks about boasting about one’s self, too! Hmmm.

Anyway, the devotional was about Redeemed Masterpieces. “The value of artwork depends in large part on who created it. The signature of a master artist gives great value. So it is with you. There is nothing you can do to increase your value. You are among the redeemed: you have been saved but not from yourself. You bear the signature of the Master.”

I decided to look up and read the actual verse Eph 28:10 in my Bible and found a note for Eph 1:13 – “We are marked as belonging to God by the Holy Spirit.” My mouth dropped open.

The actual verse says;

When you believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit14 who is a deposit guaranteeing our inheritance until the redemption of those who are God’s possession—to the praise of his glory.

Now you see why I wanted – needed – to know more about the Holy Spirit. I need to understand. I am marked. He placed His mark on me. And if He wants to talk, to reveal something to me, I want to listen.

