Tags

, , , , ,

dachalan / Free Photos

A few weeks ago, I wrote about Jesus being the Doorthat we can either prop the door open to let Jesus in or wedge it shut to keep Him out.  I also told this story: A few years ago, I painted a canvas with all the accusations of satan on one side with the Words of Truth on the other. It was a time when I was struggling with believing those accusations. One night, I heard the words “Just shut the door” and when I woke up, I painted the open door in between the words and named the painting “The Door Between Truth and Lies.”

You know that maddening experience when you walk into a room to do/get something and have totally forgotten why you were there?  The good news is that you’re not having a “senior moment” or worse. There’s a scientific explanation! And you can place the blame on the DOORWAY!

I just heard about this study on the radio this morning that suggests that it’s the very act of walking through a doorway that causes these strange memory lapses. It’s called an “event boundary” experience

This site says “Why on Earth do we have a memory system that forgets stuff as soon as we change our environment? Maybe it actually has a survival advantage. A new environment is unknown, and might be dangerous. So it makes sense to forget the old environment and put all your attention on the new (emphasis mine). Forget about the killer gorillas in the forest you just left and start looking for the killer lions on the open plains you have just entered.”

If you’re a total geek, you can read the study here.

All this made me think of the Doorway we pass through when we accept Jesus as our Savior. That Doorway leads to eternal life, to righteousness through His blood, to a life free from condemnation. Hebrews 8:12:

For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.

So if God “remembers our sins no more,” then we need to do the same. Not only for others, but also for ourselves!

We need to “forget the old environment and put all your attention on the new.”

Last night during the wee hours of non-sleeping that I occasionally often experience, I found Joyce Meyer on TV talking about Pressing Past Guilt and Shame. I found a Part 1 (Learn to live with a “righteous consciousness” rather than a “sin consciousness” so you can get rid of the past and move toward your future) and Part 2 (Move beyond negative emotions and begin enjoying who God created: YOU!) online. Oh yeah…just another GC.

She speaks of satan telling us -and our agreement with him – of all the things we are NOT.  Jesus wants us to forget all that…and remember WHO WE ARE IN HIM!

Pressing on Toward the Goal – Philippians 3:12-14:

12Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. 13Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, 14I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

Let’s walk through that Doorway and have an “event boundary” experience.

