I’m not being lazy here to just copy verbatim…but sometimes something is just so perfect that I just want to share it with you.  It fits with my previous posts on TRUST and DISAPPOINTMENT, and I’m sure that it will resonate with some of you, too.

This is from the devotional The Covenant Home Altar from my denomination written by Beth Yeager.

2 Samuel 7 (even though she referenced verses 18-22, it’s important to know what the whole chapter is about)

God’s Plan for Your Disappointment

Have you ever heard, “Life happens when you’re making other plans”? In college everyone directed me to make five-and-ten-year career plans. The assumption was that if you kept to the plan, you’d have a corporate career for life. But how disappointing if your career was cut short, even with all your careful planning.

In this passage we see a jubilant David worshiping in spite of God’s decision not to allow him to build the temple. Given David’s lifelong devotion to God, it would have been reasonable for him to assume that he would build the temple as the crowning legacy of his reign. God says no, but promises instead that his legacy would live on in the generations to come.

Not what David had expected – but definitely greater than he could have imagined. Where do you believe God might be saying no? Is it possible that God has a greater purpose for your life than the journey you are expecting?

Lord, give me the trust in your will to freely put myself in your hands and accept the circumstances in my life that you will work for the good in all things. Amen.

photo credit

