Tags

, , , , , ,

Words have a power all their own

Words have a power all their own (Photo credit: Lynne Hand)

I love words.

I love saying big words – the way they roll off my tongue. Who DOESN’T like to say Onomatopoeia? Admit it…wasn’t that fun? You know you just said it.

I just love the sound of some of them….French words are especially beautiful (Il a je ne sais quois, n’est-ce pas?), as are some rather old-fashioned words that aren’t much in use anymore like “gambol.”

There’s nothing like the beauty of a well-written sentence. And I love how I can “see” an image when I read descriptive words or phrases.

But I’ve had an epiphany (like how I just casually tossed that one in there?) about the most important Word. “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.”

You’re probably thinking, “you just now figured that one out?”  I know that the Greek in that verse is “Logos” which translates to Word, etc. But what I’m thinking about goes beyond that.

We talk about the Word of God, Scripture, God’s Instruction Book, the Good Book, etc. But the Word of God is way more than His words (written or spoken) to us in a book. And I know I am not going to be able to adequately express what’s in my heart about this….It’s like I’ve gotten a little glimpse but not enough to really understand….I’ll probably say some things that you think are just so obvious, that SOUND so obvious, but try to read UNDERNEATH the lines, not just IN BETWEEN the lines as the saying goes. Maybe you’ll glimpse a little something extra, too. Or maybe you already “get it” and I’m just a little slow.

Every once in a while I hear or read something that just floors me. I may have heard this idea a hundred times, but as I commented about something the other day, “sometimes my heart just needs to hear it another way.”  I heard one of those comments a few months ago. Very loosely paraphrased: Every time you open and read the Bible, you’re having a conversation with God.

That’s way more personal than just reading His Word. It’s reading His Word for ME. He’s TALKING to ME…personally. Dietrich Bonhoeffer said “In our meditation, we read the text given to us on the strength of the promise that it has something QUITE PERSONAL TO SAY TO US(emphasis mine) for this day and for our standing as Christians. It is not only God’s Word for the community of faith, but also God’s Word for me personally.”

I’m sure that you’ve had the same experience as me. You read a passage in the Bible that you’ve read before and BAM! It says something different than it’s ever said before. OK, not really, but you read something that speaks DIRECTLY to you and your situation “for this day.” PERSONALLY. Then later, when you re-read it, you wonder, “how did I get that out of this passage?” It doesn’t have the same meaning to you anymore.

Kevin Graham at http://grahamalive.wordpress.com said in one of his posts Flirting with Scripture: “More properly the word of the Lord is not an “it”, as in a document in which God’s words are recorded, but most importantly a “He”.”

That makes this verse mean a little something different to me. Hebrews 4:12

For the Word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.

The WORD OF GOD is alive and active.  HE is alive and active. HE is talking to me each time I read the Bible.

I want to read all the “Word of God” passages with a different viewpoint now.

My prayer, in Dietrich Bonhoeffer’s words:

“Lord, draw me to your LIVING WORD and let it be for me food for the journey.”

