Tags

, , , , , , ,

7To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a THORN IN MY FLESH, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. 8Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. 9But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

I love those verses in 2 Corinthians 12:7-10. God gave them to me as my “theme verse” for 2006. Actually only verses 9-10. I feel that I have SO MANY weaknesses that I always have had hope that He would shine through them – so many choices. *insert laugh*

But I guess I ignored verses 7 and 8.  The Thorn in my Flesh. Paul had some kind of ailment/illness/disease, right? That’s what I’d always heard. Sounds painful. A messenger from satan? Sounds like something I didn’t want. I couldn’t identify with that.  Again *insert laugh* Ignoring something doesn’t make it go away.

Recently I read a devotional about these verses and the writer said, “whether our weakness is in BODY, MIND, OR SPIRIT, God does not leave us to manage on our own.” BODY, MIND OR SPIRIT….

I began to wonder: is my anxiety, worry, fear, depression MY THORN?

It’s a weakness all right. I even know that it’s a sin to dwell on it. But when I am overcome, when I can’t handle it on my own, when it starts to drown me, I am drawn closer to the Comforter to calm me, the Mighty Warrior to fight for me, the Great Healer to cure me.

I can boast that when I am weak, then I am strong. Reminds me of the old children’s song…..

