Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This is the 2nd part of my last post.

As I was journaling about my anxiety and the GC’s with “take my yoke upon you,” I also had a sense that my inability to let go of the anxious thoughts might partially be coming from the enemy. I then turned my page in my faith journal (that has Bible verses at the bottom of the pages) and saw from Ephesian 6:16.

In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.

Ah Ha! Something wicked this way comes.

A few years ago, I painted a canvas with all the accusations of satan on one side with the Words of Truth on the other. It was a time when I was struggling with believing those accusations. One night, I heard the words “Just shut the door” and when I woke up, I painted the open door in between the words and named the painting “The Door Between Truth and Lies.”The Sunday after these “yoke” GC’s, I heard the sermon titled “Door Jam.”  Revelation 3: 20….

Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.

This, contrary to what some may think, doesn’t refer to unbelievers coming to faith, but is addressed to believers. (Although the statements He made in the gospels such as Matt 7:7 do refer to unbelivers accepting Him). In Rev 3:20, He was talking to the church in Laodicea which was rich and therefore had become SELF-RELIANT. Our pastor explained that we can use one of these little door wedges in 2 ways in the door where Jesus is standing, waiting and knocking:

  1. To keep the door open
  2. To keep the door closed

Keeping the door open means DAILY listening, hearing and doing. Our pastor reminded us that we have the freedom, the opportunity and the blessed privilege to sit at the feet of Jesus ALL THE TIME! It should not be a chore, a check-off on our to-do list, or something we try to fit in.

Keeping the door closed? We can use that little door wedge to keep that door from opening. To keep it locked tight.  Jesus is calling to us, “Here I am!” And it’s present tense. “I am here right now. I’m waiting. Waiting for you. I WANT to come in and eat with you, be with you. All you have to do is just open the door.”

What wedge is blocking the door for me, that is not allowing Him to enter? Being self-reliant like the church at Laodicea? Being Under Satan’s Yoke (busy)?  Lack of trust and faith that the things that God has in store for me is NOT to harm me but is for His glory and my growth to become more like Him.

With some of the anxious thoughts I’d been having, I was worried about “something bad” happening to my loved ones, etc. When I realized that some of it could be satan’s lies to me….to keep me FROM Jesus…. I knew I needed to “shut the door” to satan and OPEN it to Jesus.

I’ve realized before that God was preparing me for something in the past that was very painful to me that I wrote about here, and honestly, I think I’ve been trying to deny/ignore from a potential “bad thing” He may be preparing me for.  Although “something bad” may still happen, I need to trust in the One who loves me. I need to view what He’s telling me and teaching me as GROWING in my faith.

BUT I HAVE TO ADMIT…..that is sooooo much easier to SAY than to actually DO! Am I the only one who feels this?!?!?! Am I the only one who struggles with that kind of faith? The kind that TOTALLY trusts without fearing what is ahead of me?!?!

Perhaps, He’s preparing me for something that I’ve been discussing with Him for months here on this blog and in my journal. Something that is not “bad” but still OUT OF MY COMFORT ZONE.

As I meditated and journaled on these thoughts the other day, I flipped my perpetual calendar and another GC popped up!! John 10:9

I am the door; by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and go out, and shall find pasture.

I AM THE DOOR.  The Door!!!!

What’s the next verse?

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life,and have it to the full.

A lot to think about.

