Tags

, , , , , ,

Before you read the following, click on the video, get on your feet, make sure you have plenty of room and start praising & DANCING! Don’t see how you can avoid it….

He’s been showing me just how good He is this past week, and I just need to praise Him for it!

In my last post, I wrote about a vague, underlying sense of anxiety. He tells us that He will answer us if we ask. (My 2012 theme verse Jeremiah 33:3) So I did…and He did. Through my thoughts, then confirmed through Scripture and then a sermon!

I have been so busy for the last few weeks that I have not been sitting at His feet enough. (Do you know what BUSY stands for? Being Under Satan’s Yoke). Not spending enough time in His Word and not enough time conversing with Him. I was doing “God Lite” if you know what I mean. So I was wondering if that was why I was struggling so much with anxiety. There have been some issues on my mind, and I was just unable to let them go, which mixed with near constant concern and worry.

The day after I wrote this post on my anxiety, I read Matt 11:28 in my perpetual calendar:

Come to me all you are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.

Hmmm, I thought.

Then I read in a new devotional – 40 Days with Dietrich Bonhoeffer..more on that devotional later  – the same verse plus the next 2…..

Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

Yeah, a GC…

THEN (yes, there is more) I was reading in Lamentations 3 (I can’t remember WHY I was reading in Lamentations) “….my soul is downcast within me. Yet this, I call to mind and therefore I have hope: Because of the Lord’s great love, we are not consumed, for His compassions never fail….the Lord is good to those whose hope is in Him, to the one who SEEKS HIM…..” Then in verse 27:

It is good for a man to bear the YOKE while he is young.

OK, maybe I’m not young but close enough, right?

“To bear the yoke means to willing COME under God’s discipline and LEARN what He wants to teach….God has several long-term and short-terms lessons for you right now.” Says the Bible notes. ” Are you doing your homework?”  Uh….

I kept coming back to Bonhoeffer’s devotional. “Those who let Jesus’ yoke rest on them WITHOUT RESISTANCE (emphasis mine) will find the burden they must bear to be light….they will receive the strength to walk the right path without becoming weary.”

There is more. But this is becoming long. Check back tomorrow for the rest.

