Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Why are you downcast, O my soul?
Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
for I will yet praise him,
my Savior and my God. Psalm 43:5

I’ve been feeling an underlying, undefined sense of anxiety, worry, concern, depression lately. I really don’t know why. I’ve been trying to ignore it, distracting myself, etc. But the Lord wants me to address it. As He usually does, He’s brought it to my attention through my GC’s.  Twice this morning, in 2 different places, I read about all who are weary and heavy laden coming to Him for rest.  I hadn’t really realized how heavy the weight has been on my shoulders until I read that. Perhaps that physical ache and pain in my back and shoulders has an emotional element, also….

This sermon from John Piper, along with the Psalms listed below, are going to keep me company a while. I’m posting them because maybe some of you need this, too.

The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit. Psalm 34:18

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. Psalm 23:4

You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance. Psalm 32:7

Turn your ear to me, come quickly to my rescue; be my rock of refuge, a strong fortress to save me. Psalm 31:2

He will cover you with his feathers,
and under his wings you will find refuge;
his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart. Psalm 91:4

Cast your cares on the Lord
and he will sustain you;
he will never let the righteous fall.  Psalm 55:22

God is our refuge and strength,
an ever-present help in trouble.  Psalm 46:1

Praise be to the Lord, to God our Savior,
who daily bears our burdens.  Psalm 68:19

The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer;
my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge.
He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. Psalm 18:2

Taste and see that the Lord is good;
blessed is the man who takes refuge in him. Psalm 34:8

Be strong and take heart,
All you who hope in the Lord.  Psalm 34:24

My flesh and my heart may fail,
but God is the strength of my heart
and my portion forever.  Psalm 73:26

The Lord is my strength and my shield;
my heart trusts in him, and I am helped.
My heart leaps for joy
and I will give thanks to him in song.  Psalm 28:7

