Tags

, , , , ,

Cover of "Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tr...

Cover via Amazon

….because I think he’s been reading my private journal!

There could be no other explanation why he wrote MY THOUGHTS in his book The Forgotten God – Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit.  Is there? As I read this book, I alternate between my mouth dropping open (because he HAS written my thoughts and almost exact words from my journal), crying (about my previous misconceptions & fears resulting in so much wasted time and missing out on the joys He had for me), and excitement (about what He has in store for me).

Actually, this will be the first in a series of posts about the Holy Spirit. WHY I’m studying about Him, what I’m learning, my ah-ha moments and hopefully YOUR insights and thoughts. So fasten your seatbelts.

Since my pastor was talking on Sunday about our Conscious Dependence on the Holy Spirit and knew I was studying about the Spirit of God, he asked me to talk about it.  This is what I said:

Recently I realized that although I know ABOUT the Holy Spirit, I wasn’t really acknowledging Him as the one who was working in me. I know God talks to me because I’ve had some really INCREDIBLE experiences (as an aside…stay tuned for some of those). But I’ve felt for quite a while that something was missing….

I’ve been reading passages in the Bible and asked Pastor Bob & other people for a book recommendation about the Spirit. One of those books was by Francis Chan – Forgotten God – Reversing our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit. And right there in the beginning, I read

If I were satan and my ultimate goal was to thwart God’s Kingdom and purposes, one of my main strategies would be to get churchgoers to ignore the Holy Spirit. We understand that something very important is missing. (And that was the 1st time I felt Chan was reading my journal!). I believe that this missing something is actually a missing Someone – namely, the Holy Spirit. Without Him, people operate in their own strength and only accomplish human-size results. The world is not moved by love or actions that are of human creation. And the church is not empowered to live differently from any other gathering of people without the Holy Spirit. But when believers live in the power of the Spirit (emphasis mine), the evidence in their lives is supernatural. The church cannot help but be different, and the world cannot help but notice.

I’ll confess that in the past, I’ve had some misconceptions & even been a little AFRAID of the Holy Spirit – like He was some kind of mysterious entity that only charismatic denominations had contact with or something. And afraid of what might happen – what He might have me do among other things. (Since then I’ve had some insights about what He’s already done & tried to teach me but those are for future posts) I know all that sounds pretty dumb. Because He’s God! God’s Spirit who LIVES in me.

So I’m learning a lot about the strength, wisdom and power that’s available to me through the Spirit. And I WANT MORE of what He has to offer. Although it’s still a little scary to surrender fully to the Spirit’s leading, I want people to see some of the same boldness in me that people saw in Peter and John in Acts 4.

When they saw the courage of Peter and John and realized that they were unschooled, ordinary men, they were astonished and knew that they had been with Jesus.

