Tags

, , , , , , ,

And peeking over my shoulder as I write?

This thought just occurred to me this morning as I prayed out loud. I’m one of those people who can focus SO much better when I talk out loud, not only when I pray, but at work. Just ask my poor co-workers who ignore my constant prattling to myself as I work…I hope.

He is not omniscient, I know. He can’t read my mind. Nor is he omnipresent. I don’t know why he’d bother with ME anyway. But what about his demons? His minions? Are they everywhere? Do they listen to us to harass us? We know that Satan is the deceiver and that our accuser.  We are told in 1 Peter 5:8-9 to Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour.  Resist him, steadfast in the faith, knowing that the same sufferings are experienced by your brotherhood in the world.  And we are told in Esphesians 6:12 that ..our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.

So I definitely believe in spiritual warfare. My eyes were certainly opened to this in a new way when I read John Eldredge’s Waking the Dead and The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis.

But how do you think it works? I mean practically?

The enemy probably knows my weaknesses better than I do after all this time. But as I said, I pray out loud a lot. And with my journaling and this blog, does that mean that the enemy has extra ammo – extra fiery darts – to shoot at me?

What do you think? I would love to hear your thoughts.

