Tags

, , , ,

Holy Spirit painting

Holy Spirit painting (Photo credit: hickory hardscrabble)

The Holy Spirit has been in my thoughts lately. I understand (OK, UNDERSTAND is a massive overstatement) about the Trinity. Let’s just say I know ABOUT the Trinity. And I know what Jesus said about the Spirit. But I’ve realized I don’t seem to acknowledge the Holy Spirit much. Does that mean I am not really living with the POWER of the Holy Spirit?!?! Or least all the power that’s available to me?!?! Quite frankly, I’ve pretty much always talked to God. Not necessarily God the Father – but GOD.  It’s only been fairly recently that I actually talked TO Jesus – I mean specifically addressing Jesus – in my prayers and journaling.  I would pray in His Name, talk about Him, but talk to Jesus directly? Not really much before a year or so ago, I don’t think. But the Holy Spirit? Guess I’ve taken Him for granted.

I feel a little worried about that. And confused. Should I be?

Acts 19:1-5 tells us about some disciples of Christ who had been baptized by John – a baptism of repentence – but they hadn’t received or heard of the Holy Spirit. Paul placed his hands on them, and the Holy Spirit came on them.  Notes in my Bible say:

“Their baptism was a sign of repentance from sin only – not a sign of new life…..They believed in Jesus as the Messiah, but they didn’t understand the significance of His death & resurrection or the work of the Holy Spirit……These believers were incomplete.”

Now my understanding is that we receive the Holy Spirit immediately upon our surrender to Jesus and asking Him to be our Savior. I HAVE the Spirit…..But again, it makes me wonder: Am I missing out on something like those disciples?

I know that I want to learn more about the Holy Spirit. More reading, more studying, more praying, more journaling.

A prayer from one of my recent devotionals: Holy Spirit, breathe on us your breath of renewal that we may experience you in a fresh way in this day. Amen.

