Tags

, , , ,

In the middle of the night, when I can’t sleep because my mind will NOT stop its analyzing the day, regurgitating the mistakes, fretting about the future that I know I can’t control,  I roll over and lie on my tummy. And I say “tummy” because that’s the correct word in this situation. Within a couple of minutes, my body starts to relax, I feel the deep sigh and my mind finally shuts off. Never fails. Of course, I can’t stay that way because my neck starts to stiffen, and every one knows that position etches the deep wrinkles right into your face. Right? But it only takes a few minutes to achieve that state of mind so that I can finally sleep.

I have no idea why this position works. Is this a physical thing where my body is stretched out into the most conducive position for relaxation? Or is there a deeper meaning? Did my mother put me on my tummy to sleep when I was a baby? Is this such a safe, familiar place in my psyche that my mind responds?

Neil Coleman /Stock Photos

What about that other position that God has been trying so long to teach me that provides the safest, most peaceful environment? Will I ever COMPLETELY learn? I long for that. I know I’m progressing, but the learning curve seems so steep…

Isaiah 26:3 You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in you.

