Tags

, , ,

The LORD our God said to us at Horeb, “You have stayed long enough at this mountain.” Deuteronomy 1:6

Do we, do I, need to be told the same thing the Almighty told the Children of Israel?  Instead of making progress, instead of learning what He is teaching us, instead of experiencing that abundant life, instead of allowing the Great Physician to heal us, we can find ourselves wandering 40 years (even if it just FEELS like 40 years) just like. they. did.

We sometimes are astonished by what we read in the Old Testament about those “stiff-necked people.”  What was the matter with them? Didn’t they remember the Red Sea incident?  Weren’t their bellies always full of food they didn’t have even work for?   Didn’t they enjoy the water that just materialized out of thin air when Moses struck a rock?

Moses Striking the Rock in Horeb Image

Turn the “looking glass” slowly around…..who do you see?  We are also a stiff-necked people, don’t you think?

God can and does lead us to the wilderness as I wrote about here and even keep us there for longer than we’d like…. but sometimes our actions sin, our attitudes sin, our thought processes sin can keep us roaming round and round, never to leave the mountain of Horeb, even though God is calling us out of there!

I’ll name a few things sins that can KEEP us there.  Are any of these familiar to you? They are to me…

  • Lack of trust
  • Unbelief
  • Worry
  • Fear
  • Negativity
  • Desiring the easy way, rather than the right way
  • Listening to and believing the enemy’s lies
  • Allowing strongholds to remain
  • Pride
  • Running out ahead of God
  • Trying to BE God in my life – control
  • Disobedience

So, as the Holy Spirit says:

“Today, if you hear his voice,

do not harden your hearts

as you did in the rebellion,

during the time of testing in the desert,

where your fathers tested and tried me

and for forty years saw what I did.

That is why I was angry with that generation,

and I said, ‘Their hearts are always going astray,

and they have not known my ways.’

So I declared on oath in my anger,

‘They shall never enter my rest.’”  Hebrews 3:7-11

REST. Doesn’t sound good?

swisscan /Free Photos
