Tags

, , , ,

KennethMoyle /Free Photos

“Call to me, and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.” Jeremiah 33:3

Each year, I find that God gives me a “theme verse” for the year…something that resonates in my heart, that touches me in some way, something that says “listen, I’m telling you something important.”

And as He so often does, both in His written Word and directly to me with my GC’s, He repeats the important thing.

“Listen,” He said during the New Year sermon.

Listen,” He said in an e-mail devotional a few days later.

“Listen,” He said as I flipped through my Bible, looking for a different passage but seeing Jeremiah 33:3 already underlined.

I looked it up in other versions and “unsearchable” became “remarkable secrets you do not know about things to come.” (NLT) or “great and mighty things, which you know not” (NKJ) or “great and mighty things, which you do not know” (ASB).

Wonderful, I thought. I want to know more about You. I want intimate knowledge of Your great love, Your will, Your Word. I’d like answers to prayers, answers to questions. What great things will you show me?

But a few days ago, I was reading Proverbs 2:3-5 and noticed something familiar – yet more apparent and obvious. ” And if you call out for insight and cry aloud for understanding, and if you look for it as silver and search for it as for hidden treasure, then you will understand the fear of the Lord and find the knowledge of God.”

And I realize, once again, once again, once again, the importance of the calling out, the crying, the searching, the asking.  Oh, He is waiting for me to call, to ask, to persist, to BE PRAYERFUL!

I pray. Of course, I do. But am I PRAYERFUL?

Our church is doing a special daily devotional for Lent this year called Undone 31. Each morning, we read and pray about something to “Watch” for during the day and at night, we “Wonder” with reflection questions, reviewing our day to see how we experienced the presence of God and to end the day with prayer.

Day 1: “In the morning, O LORD, you hear my voice; in the morning I
lay my requests before you and wait in expectation.”  Psalm 5:3

Ask and Expect. Beautiful, isn’t it?

Lent traditionally involves giving up something. My pastor has encouraged us to ADD something. Something that will enrich our intimacy with our Savior.  I know what my addition will be.

Oh, by the way. The title of that photo of the telephone is so appropriate: STILL WAITING…..

