Tags

, , , , , ,

She looked a little tired like most of the vendors but animated as I asked her about her one of her jewelry pieces. “I named the necklace the Peace of Christ because I truly feel at peace when I wear it. It was cast from an original 1940 chip for AA,  but it’s really for all who believe that through Christ all things are possible.”

“If God be for you, who can be against you” and “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” are written on the front & back, along with the references Proverbs 3:5-6, another one of my favorite verses, and 1 John 1:19.

I told her I loved it – that I had Philippians 4:13 stenciled above my front door.  I wanted one.  After misunderstanding about being able to make a personal order at wholesale prices at the show, I told her I’d need to order from her website sometime in the future because the retail price just wasn’t in my budget at the moment. I left to get my lunch.

Ten minutes later, as I’m leaving the floor,  I heard someone calling. She ran up to me and told me that after I left, she felt unsettled. “It’s a gift,” she smiled as she handed it to me.

“What?” I stammered as tears filled my eyes. “Someone gave one to me when I needed it, and now I feel I’m supposed to give one to you,” she explained.  As we talked, I found out that she had lost her husband last year and had really leaned on Jesus for His strength and peace. She wondered about the story behind my eyes…the one I may not be ready to talk about……..What?

Although I felt incredibly blessed by her gift & thoughtfulness, fear started seeping into my heart. Full-fledged by the next day.  My story?!? A story likes hers that necessitates needing the Peace of Christ? Yes, life is challenging…some days, some years more than others. Yes, I worry. I doubt. I fear. I have troubles and problems. I have dilemmas, concerns and obstacles. But overall, my life is pretty good, I think.

So, where did my thoughts turn? Right to worry, of course. What is God trying to prepare me for? What kind of baaaaad thing is going to happen that I’ll reeeallllly need the Peace of Christ? The same worries that I already have to give to Jesus over & over started becoming realities in my mind. Plus I added a few new ones.

Am I the only one who does this?

