Tags

, , , , ,

I haven’t posted in a couple of weeks because life has been crazy. As I said in my last post, I need an “Advent Attitude Adjustment.”  Been hard to even do that with any success. There always seems to be something that disturbs my morning time, thus disturbing my day, my peace, my walk.

I sang Handel’s Messiah in high school – in its entirety – taught by very strict, exacting but incredibly loving choir directors who insisted on perfection. Their instruction paved the way for my love of music as well as my love for the music in Messiah. I can still sing the alto part by memory right along with the recording.

Last year, I painted and made collages as my Advent homage. This year, I realized that the music of Handel’s Messiah would again serve as my Advent…my way of preparing the way of the Lord. Will you join me over the next couple weeks?

Comfort Ye My People  Isaiah 40:1

“At the end of his manuscript Handel wrote the letters “SDG”—Soli Deo Gloria, “To God alone the glory.”

